Pablo Software Solutions Forum Index Pablo Software Solutions

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Client is not PASS mode, but I want port number 20...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pablo Software Solutions Forum Index -> Quick 'n Easy FTP Server
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andrew Lee



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Location: no

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:27 pm    Post subject: Client is not PASS mode, but I want port number 20... Reply with quote

Crying or Very sad

Hi,

Client is just Active mode...
Client connects dataport number 20...
I want Server dataport number 20...

(if Client is passive mode, port range 20-20... but Client is not Passive mode...just Active mode...)

How do i?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1468

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In active mode the client determines the port which is used for the data connection (that's why it's called active mode), so you can't change the port on the server side, you have to set it in the client (if possible).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Andrew Lee



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Location: no

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:01 am    Post subject: ... Reply with quote

Crying or Very sad

ex)
< Client > < Server >

PORT 4233 -> Port 21
<- Sync 4233 - dataport 20
Data Send -> Port 20

Client Source port = 4233
Destination port = 20

Server Source port = 20
Destination port = 4233


???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1468

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try to understand the concept of active vs passive mode.
It's not a limitation of the server it's just the way the FTP protocol works.

Also read this very usefull information: http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html for more information about PASV and PORT mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Andrew Lee



Joined: 15 Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Location: no

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:43 am    Post subject: Sorry... Reply with quote

Embarassed

Mr. Pablo...
Sorry..
You don't understand me...

Q & E Ftp Server isn't using standard dataport 20....
Q & E Ftp Server is using random dataport number...isn't it?

Client is always Active mode, I want to use Q & E Ftp Server dataport number 20...

How do I?
Do I misunderstanding now???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1468

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry, but I think you are wrong.
In active mode (PORT), the FTP client determines the port used for the data connection. You (or the server) cannot change this port, unless you can configure it in the FTP client.

In passive mode (PASV), the FTP server determines the port used for the data connection, this is the port range you specify in the server configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pablo Software Solutions Forum Index -> Quick 'n Easy FTP Server All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


SwiftBlue Theme created by BitByBit
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group