Pablo Software Solutions Forum Index Pablo Software Solutions

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

URL

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pablo Software Solutions Forum Index -> Quick 'n Easy Web Server
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
invision



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:44 am    Post subject: URL Reply with quote

About the URL name showing.
I have a redirection of the domain to my own server.

Works fine as long as pages renew within the first page. As soon as the renew in a new page the URL shows my IP number + htlm page name.

I want only the domain name showing in the URL.
How do I do this?

And one other thing. My counter (Onestat) gives an error on the index.htm pages and does not show its icon and does not count the visits.

On the pages without the domain URL (being the ones with my IP address) the Onestat icon shows properly and the pages are registerd as visited.

Gerard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the IP address is showing then the script might be returning it to the browser. Normally the browsers controls the current URL and chnage the content of the URL based on links in your webpages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
invision



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 11:00 am    Post subject: URL Reply with quote

I have solved the counter problem. I changed the Onestat script. Now the icon shows and the visits are counted.

What still remains is the following.

If a new page is opened from the main page (which is index.htm in my case) all works fine. The URL shows fine; www.mydomain.com.

If a new page is opened using target=_new, then the IP address shows where the page is actually hosted, which is my servers IP address.
I don't want that IP address to show. How do I prevent it from showing?
How do I show www.mydomain.com as the URL?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The IP address issue is not caused by the server, it is either your script or the browser. The server is not 'smart' enough to know your IP address!
Please check the code of your page, I think the IP address is somewehre in there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
invision



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 1:56 pm    Post subject: URL Reply with quote

It doesn't show MY IP address, it shows the IP address of the server.
Im sitting at home and the server is in our office.

It happens ONLY when a page is opened in a new window, using target=new. Otherwise www.mydomain.com shows in the URL.

So when I surf on the internet from the main page at http://www.mydomain.com all goes wel until a page is opened in a new window.

Example of the URL then:
http://87.179.135.81/map_of_ my_ domain/contact.htm

It show the IP address of the server + the map where the files are.
If you want I can give you access to investigate this.

Am I the only one who has this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never heard about this behavior before, so it looks like it is related to your configuration.

Did you try this in different types of browsers?
Do you have a script for us to reproduce this behavior?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
invision



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 7:08 am    Post subject: URL Reply with quote

www.depaardenhemel.nl

Go to contact en click on 'hier'.
Page will be opened in a new window with wrong URL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please take a look at the source code of your index page.
It contains the IP address of the server! This is what is causing this behavior.

I think the webhost of the domain has implemented a redirect to your IP address using a frameset. Please contact the administrator of the domain for more details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
invision



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 10:20 pm    Post subject: DNS Reply with quote

I removed the redirect and instead I changed the IP address (the two A records) in the DNS. So now my site opens in its own URL and the new pages are opened fine.
I cannot make a mapping, because it only allows the IP address and no text.

But I have several domains on the server and the IP address will only show the first domain. How do I get to the virtual domains if I can only type the IP address + mapping?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to make virtual domains work, the DNS for that domain should point tot the server's IP address. Then in your browser you should enter
http://www.domainxyz.com
The browser will then request the page from the server including the domain name in the HTTP request header. QnE Server will then redirect the request to the virtual directory based on the HTTP header.

You can easily test this like this:
Test 1
1) Set the alias to 127.0.0.1
2) Enter http://127.0.0.1 in the URL field of the browser.
3) The browser will now display the content of virtual directory

Test 2
1) Set the alias to 192.168.0.1 (change to a valid local IP address!)
2) Enter http://192.168.0.1 in the URL field of the browser.
3) The browser will now display the content of another virtual directory

Test 3
1) Edit your 'hosts' file (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\ect\)
2) Add the following entry
127.0.0.1 www.domainxyz.com
3) Create a virtual directory with alias www.domainxyz.com
4) Restart your browser and enter
http://www.domainxyz.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
invision



Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 11:08 am    Post subject: DNS Reply with quote

Test 3 was the key to it all.
Thanks for all the help.

Did I overlook this somewhere? It would be great if it is explained in the help file somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pablo Software Solutions Forum Index -> Quick 'n Easy Web Server All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


SwiftBlue Theme created by BitByBit
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group