My computer can have DNS os just IP

Issues related to Quick 'n Easy Mail Server.
Post Reply
danielfassis
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 10:05 am

My computer can have DNS os just IP

Post by danielfassis » Fri May 09, 2008 5:45 pm

If possible how can I give DNS to my computer, because my domain company does not allow to give ip as a DNS on server field.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Sat May 10, 2008 7:11 am

I recommend using a public DNS server:
http://www.tech-faq.com/public-dns-servers.shtml
danielfassis
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 10:05 am

Thanks!

Post by danielfassis » Sat May 10, 2008 11:37 am

But If my using public server, that means the server will no be my computer?

I should put the public serve adress on my domain register?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Sat May 10, 2008 6:20 pm

danielfassis
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 10:05 am

What the diference between my DNS or public DNS?

Post by danielfassis » Sun May 11, 2008 12:32 pm

What the diference between my DNS or public DNS?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Sun May 11, 2008 2:11 pm

What the diference between my DNS or public DNS?
Nothing :? It's up to you which one to use.
max7
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:38 pm
Location: USA

Post by max7 » Sun May 25, 2008 9:05 pm

Nothing It's up to you which one to use.
From your answer above, does this mean if for purposes of web development on my home PC I could configure QnE Mail server to send out email via SMTP using one of these public DNS (I'm assuming these are free of charge) instead of purchasing a domain name?

My goal is to test a webform to email using ASP and use my gmail account to receive the email containing the webform data.
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Mon May 26, 2008 6:35 am

If you are only use QnE Mail Server for outgoing email then you do not need a domain name.
max7
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:38 pm
Location: USA

Post by max7 » Mon May 26, 2008 9:28 am

If you are only use QnE Mail Server for outgoing email then you do not need a domain name.
I actually set it up and my mail serverlogs would indicate that everything worked except that no email was received at the destination email but it saved a copy to my queue folder:

09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> Client connected from 127.0.0.1
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> 220 Quick 'n Easy Mail Server
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> HELO max-023fe7af57c
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> 250 OK
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> MAIL FROM: <myemail1@gmail.com>
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> 250 OK
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> RCPT TO: <myemail2@gmail.com>
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> Forwarding email to: <myemail2@gmail.com>
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> 250 OK
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> DATA
09:00:46.328 [3992] <SMTP> 354 End with <CRLF>.<CRLF>
09:00:46.343 [588] <SMTP> Incoming message: 3642E1A3A8B34E0B826CF9DFF4F6A059.eml
09:00:46.343 [588] <SMTP> Copying message to: G:\Documents and Settings\Moshe\My Documents\mailboxes\queue\
09:00:46.359 [3992] <SMTP> 250 OK: Queued as: 3642E1A3A8B34E0B826CF9DFF4F6A059
09:00:46.359 [3992] <SMTP> QUIT
09:00:46.359 [3992] <SMTP> 221 Bye
09:00:46.359 [3992] <SMTP> Client disconnected from 127.0.0.1

Where did I go wrong?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Mon May 26, 2008 9:20 pm

Did you setup a valid DNS server?
Did you enable relaying?
max7
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:38 pm
Location: USA

Post by max7 » Tue May 27, 2008 12:42 am

Did you setup a valid DNS server?
Did you enable relaying?
Yes to both; I called my ISP and they gave me both the DNS server IP and host name but email just keep looping back to my queue mail folder (or they never really go out?). Here's another mail server log:


16:19:23.625 [868] <SMTP> Client connected from 127.0.0.1
16:19:23.625 [868] <SMTP> 220 Quick 'n Easy Mail Server
16:19:23.625 [868] <SMTP> HELO max-023fe7af57c
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> 250 OK
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> MAIL FROM: <myemail1@gmail.com>
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> 250 OK
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> RCPT TO: <myemail2@gmail.com>
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> Forwarding email to: <myemail2@gmail.com>
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> 250 OK
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> DATA
16:19:23.640 [868] <SMTP> 354 End with <CRLF>.<CRLF>
16:19:23.640 [3716] <SMTP> Incoming message: 089A5337DAD24075A4591E94982955E3.eml
16:19:23.640 [3716] <SMTP> Copying message to: G:\Documents and Settings\Moshe\My Documents\mailboxes\queue\
16:19:23.656 [868] <SMTP> 250 OK: Queued as: 089A5337DAD24075A4591E94982955E3
16:19:23.656 [868] <SMTP> QUIT
16:19:23.656 [868] <SMTP> 221 Bye
16:19:23.656 [868] <SMTP> Client disconnected from 127.0.0.1

I can't figure out the problem; any ideas?.

Also, QnE Mail Server has now stopped responding 3 times in the past day; it just locks up and I have to close out using the task manager. A "send microsoft the error information" window pops up; it refers to hungapp and here's the information it was going to send out related to the problem:

G:\DOCUME~1\Moshe\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER228d.dir00\quickmail.exe.mdmp
G:\DOCUME~1\Moshe\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER228d.dir00\appcompat.txt

Any ideas why it's freezing up like this? :?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Tue May 27, 2008 6:38 am

1) In the log file I do not see any information that the RELAY thread has been started. Are you sure it is enabled?

2) There are no known problems with the stability of the software.
Can you reproduce this behavior on another computer, so we can be sure it's not just your computer? Maybe a firewall or virusscanner causes a conflict?
max7
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:38 pm
Location: USA

Post by max7 » Tue May 27, 2008 4:50 pm

Ok . . . I just opened up the mail server this morning and noticed an icon in the task bar i hadn't noticed before. I checked the server logs and sure enough, it was now sending out all six emails I had tried to send the day before!

I tested it again by completing the form data and submitting and it sent the email immediately. I had Relay enabled yesterday so I can't fathom why there would be a delayed reaction - any ideas?
Can you reproduce this behavior on another computer, so we can be sure it's not just your computer? Maybe a firewall or virusscanner causes a conflict?
I don't know that I will have the opportunity to troubleshoot this on another machine. I could try later today at my office. I am running Comodo Firewall Pro and AVAST! AV. The mail server seemed to lock up when I tried stopping and starting it again in an effort to refresh it. Did the data I provide give you any clues to what might be causing the lock up?
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by admin » Tue May 27, 2008 8:44 pm

No, I'm sorry we were not able to reproduce this behavior.
Please try to duplicate it yourself on another computer.
If you can reproduce the probelms on another PC, then please give me the exact steps how to do this.
Post Reply